FEMA Approves Oklahoma’s Disaster Assistance for April Wildfires

Posted on

OKLAHOMA CITY – In a press release from her office, Oklahoma Governor Mary Fallin today announced that the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) has approved the state’s request for disaster assistance for five counties impacted by wildfires that occurred April 11-20.

The approval means federal funding is available to assist municipalities, counties and rural electric cooperatives with infrastructure repairs and other eligible costs.

Disaster assistance is approved for Custer, Dewey, Harmon, Roger Mills and Woodward counties.

Damage assessments indicate the fires resulted in more than $6.8 million in infrastructure damage and other costs, not including those associated with responding to the fires. Two deaths and multiple injuries were also attributed to the wildfires.

Additional counties may be added to the public assistance declaration request at a later date should conditions warrant.

Published by

Sean Gallagher